Easter Festivities

I love Easter, it is one of my favorite holidays–right behind the 4th of July.  Easter means spring, freshly cut grass, flowers, blue sky, and sun! Living in Montana you do not always get the warmth, but each year it seems to be sunny and green everywhere you look! I have been particularly excited for this Easter because M is big enough to run around and pick things up. We were practicing picking up eggs and putting them into a basket for weeks! Just to prepare for the big day!  Now, I must admit, we did not get her anything this Easter. Why you ask? Well, what does a 14 month old really need. (with my husband in his second year of owning his own business, let’s not get crazy and spend money on things we don’t need).  Besides she has everything a 14 month old could possibly need and M happens to be the only grandchild on both sides of the family.  Even if I mention that she is running short on clothes that fit or her shoes are getting too small, SURPRISE something shows up in the mail.  So for Easter she got a very cool caterpillar tunnel from one set of grandparents and she will be getting clothes from the other set when they arrive in Southwest Montana in a few days!

photo 1.JPG

This Easter it was only about 45 or 50 degrees, but the sun was out and our house faces the south, so it gets quite warm and comfortable back there (hence M not wearing any tights or shoes at this point).  Although, I have to admit, I was a little chilly at first wearing just a dress.

Being outside is one of our favorite things, M included!  Yesterday we were outside for well over an hour running around, playing with the dogs, and running after run away eggs!  The dogs thought that some of the plastic eggs were their tennis balls and M had a blast trying to get them back!

photo 1 (1) Please forgive our dead spots–our dogs do a number on the grass and it’s impossible to keep up.

I love to watch her run around the yard and enjoy being outside as much as we do! Yesterday, Easter, was the first time she has been outside without shoes on! At first she was not too sure what to do about the grass touching her toes, but that strange sensation quickly subsided and she was running around like crazy once again!

I could not believe how excited she was to find and pick up an empty egg! It was pure joy–seen from the excitement above! She would grab the egg, say “wowww!” throw it and run up to it again and say “WOWWW!”

Yesterday we had the only other family member to our house that lives within a 1,400 mile radius; my mom’s cousin.  We always have a great time with her and are so blessed to have one member of our extended family to share the holidays with.  (I have to admit, coming from a family that shared every holiday with extended family, it has been a hard adjustment. I went from from having 20+ people running around to just my husband and I.  For awhile holidays did not even feel like a holiday, it was just another day.  But it is slowly getting better and I have to make it better and more festive for M..) Easter dinner was comprised of our family tradition–ham, cheesy potatoes, green beans, and berries!  For dessert I made my first ever French Silk Pie. I thought it turned out quite well and needless to say, my family of three crashed around 6:45 yesterday evening.

Leave a Reply

