February is Heart Awareness Month

Every month I change the bulletin board at work–ONE of my favorite things to do!  Like I have said before, I can put whatever I want up on my board outside of my fitness center.  The past few months have been things like “how to destress” or “how to beat the winter blues”–so this month, since it is Heart Awareness Month, I thought I would change it up and go back to some educational information.  Heart Awareness Month is actually all about heart disease, how to prevent it, and how to manage it if you have it, but that seemed rather depressing since I work in a place where 70% of the people have some sort of heart issue.  So I decided to go with how the heart pumps blood through our body and how the heart contracts.  I made the bulletin board interactive this month too! I am quite impressed with it, the residents seemed to like it as I was putting it up on Friday, and my coworkers were quite impressed!

photo (7).JPG

February Bulletin Board.

You can lift up the lungs to see the location of the heart in our body and once you lift the heart up you can see how the blood flows through our lungs!  It has everything you have ever wanted to know about your heart, right?!

At the start of the new year I started ‘Wise and Well’ Wellness Newsletter.  I am currently working on writing them through May for sure, but hopefully June as well. That way my coworkers won’t have to do do that while I am gone.  I am half way through May, so it is looking good!  It’s kind of bitter sweet–this is the last bulletin board I will do until June! One of my coworkers is taking over that duty until I get back.   This month contains D-Day and I will have 12 weeks off after my little angel is born.  My last day of work is February 19th–her due date, but honestly at this point I am hoping she is early. I will be going back to work the middle of May and will be going back part time. I will be working Monday and Wednesday 8:00am to 4:30pm and Fridays 8:00am to 12:00pm.  I am quite excited that my boss let me drop down to part time, that way Baby M is only in daycare for 2.5 days! When I get back I will be very busy, but it will be a blast! Here is my new schedule–and NEW exercise classes!!

Monday:
8-9:30am Supervised Gym Hours
10-11:00am Chair Exercise
12:30-1:00pm Lunch (The most important part of the day!!)
NEW!!! 1:15-3:00pm Hike around the Valley somewhere with the independent living residents in the summer and in the winter we will have a weight lifting class from 2:30 to 3:30pm.

Wednesday:
8-9:30am Supervised Gym Hours
10-11:00am Chair Exercise
12:30-1:00pm Lunch
NEW!! 2:30-3:30pm Weight Lifting Class

Friday:
8-9:30am Supervised Gym Hours
10-11:00am Chair Exercise
Home with my little girl by 12:30!!

During my down times I will work on my bulletin board if it is close to the end of the month, or work on my monthly newsletter.

I could not be more thrilled about my new schedule and so thankful that my boss thinks so highly of me that she allowed me to go to part time!

2 thoughts on “February is Heart Awareness Month

Leave a Reply

