Bump Watch

Week 35:

I start going to the doctor every week now, which actually takes a surprisingly long time.  I never realized how long you wait in doctors offices until I started going every few weeks and now once a week.  But I have to say, my doctor is worth the wait, she is great! I told her at my last appointment that I need to go into labor when she is on call so that she can deliver my baby.  Baby M is active, healthy, and dropping!! She dropped a ton and I have officially started the waddling stage.

I think this week I have experienced every emotion in the book! Extreme happiness, extreme discomfort, anger, and sadness.  And lucky for James he witnessed every one of them!  I have gotten to the point where almost everything is rather uncomfortable, it doesn’t hurt, I would just rather not do it anymore. Sleeping is uncomfortable, sitting is uncomfortable, chair exercise at work isn’t comfortable anymore, and standing for too long now gets uncomfortable because my feet are getting swollen.  My sister reminded me the other day of how excited I was to be pregnant–well it isn’t all sunshine and roses like I had imagined.  It’s real and while it is crazy that my body can do this kind of thing and I am sure it is all going to be worth it; this week I was over just about everything.

Earlier this wee I fell asleep on the couch (like normal) but this time when James woke me up to go to sleep I was very uncomfortable and everything ached.  Being overly tired I started to have a mental freak out–not too noticeable from the outside (I don’t think) but I was freaking out in my head BIG TIME.  When we got to bed I was not able to find a comfortable spot and kept moving around and my mental freak out was getting worse.  This whole time James had his hand on my back and he finally told me that it is ok to cry, I told him it would not help anything so there isn’t any point.  He then said its ok, he knows how badly I want to cry (side note–don’t say that to a very emotional pregnant girl who is having a mental freak out and trying to hold it together).  I looked at him and started to bawl!

Needless to say this may not have been one of my best or favorite weeks of pregnancy.

Week 36:

This week Baby M is the size of a honeydew melon and is about 18.5 inches long and weighs approximately 6 pounds!
TOTAL WEIGHT GAIN: +35 pounds.
My doctor promises me that most of the excess weight gain now is water retention–which I might believe considering none of my shoes/boots/flats/running shoes or wedding band fit very well anymore. That happened almost over night!  But I have to say, the sweets are also calling my name at.every.hour.of.every.day..so there is always that too.
MATERNITY CLOTHES?  Yes and now the only thing I can comfortably wear are my two pairs of maternity leggings and James shirts–so finding something and getting dressed in the morning for work is a chore.
SLEEP: Not a whole lot–I am sleeping on the couch by about 7:30pm and awake all night because Baby M is on my bladder and then I finally get up around 5:30am or 6:00am because laying on my side is very uncomfortable now.
STRETCH MARKS?: Not yet! I am almost there! PLEASE HOLD OUT SKIN!!  Although some days it feels as though the skin under my sternum might just rip open horizontally–I might skip the stretch marks and go straight for the explosion..who knows.
BEST MOMENT: Hands down: The moment when James felt Baby M kick for the first time and the expression on his face.
MISS ANYTHING? Walking normally (without waddling), Subway (Yes, I still can not wait until I can feed my addiction again), having a closet full of clothes to wear, being able to go to the gym and working out or go for a run, sleeping on my stomach, and bending over without fear of smashing my little girl or breaking her in half!  Yes follks! I have officially hit the stage in pregnancy where I am done. DONE. I want to meet her, I want my body back–BRING ON THE LABOR PAINS! I AM READY!
MOVEMENT: She is an active little bugger! If she doesn’t change her sleeping schedule pretty soon I will be a mom with a very active girl in the middle of the night.  
CRAVINGS:
 No crazy cravings these past few weeks–minus the sugar high Baby M seems need to need all the time (I know it’s not me who needs it..hmm)  Apples and cottage cheese are still my go to snacks though.
EW, GROSS: 
My poor feet and toes and now kankles are like little sausages and by the end of the day I have sock impressions along my entire foot.
GENDER: Girl.
LABOR SIGNS:   Braxton Hick contractions over the past week and some pressure low–maybe a few minor cramps.  My doctor is not worried, so neither am I.
SYMPTOMS: Weight gain and swollen ankles, feet, hands, and toes. Nothing crazy or out of the ordinary.
INNIE OR OUTIE? outie.
MOOD:  Over the pregnancy thing–now I just want to meet my little girl and move on!  I can imagine what she looks like, but I don’t want to get attached to what I THINK she should look like in case she looks completely different.
EXCITED FOR: To be done being pregnant and of course to MEET MY LITTLE GIRL!!  I can not wait–she will be perfect! James and I have MAYBE almost picked out a name for her–but you will have to wait until she is born.  We have not agreed on ANY names since the beginning, and the other day I was able to get a “well that’s not a horrible name” out of James.  So I think he is processing it now and I am hoping it sticks!
Start of week 37.  Front view too!!
(Please excuse the toilet in the background.)
Leave a Reply

