Bump Watch

Second half of Week 25:

The second part of week 25 was pretty uneventful.  I have been feeling great and still enjoying all the sweets! Although I am trying not to eat them–trying to stay as healthy as possible.  This week I had a few residents ask me if I was getting excited to have the baby.  The answer was always the same: Yes, I am excited, but also quite nervous.  They always laugh and tell me, “Just you wait until the 5th one comes around, you will not even realize you had another baby.”  Well yes, that is one way to look at things.

Week 26:

Baby is the size of a head of lettuce.

TOTAL WEIGHT GAIN:  +19 pounds at the start of week 27.  Like I said before, I have been using my scale to measure my weight gain on the blog. I am not sure what happened at the doctors office last time–our scales were normally within a few pounds of each other. I will let you know what the doc’s scale says after my next apt.
MATERNITY CLOTHES?  No question-yes 100%
SLEEP: Not comfortable. If I could stand while sleeping I would. Sitting and laying down is not comfortable.  Plus, Baby M is a fan of kicking me in the middle of the night.
STRETCH MARKS?: Nada! My boss just got back from maternity leave and she gave me the rest of her Burts Bees Wax Belly Butter to use.  I’m pretty excited to use it!
BEST MOMENT: Probably the moment when James first felt Baby M kick.
MISS ANYTHING? Sleeping on my stomach.
MOVEMENT: She still moves quite a lot, especially when I am right about to go to sleep and while I am trying to sleep.
CRAVINGS:
 Cottage cheese–still can not go wrong with that!
EW, GROSS:
  We are going to our birthing class this weekend where we learn all the gory details of child birth. As of right now I am totally good with being blissfully ignorant.  I will let you know the results of the class.
GENDER: Girl.
LABOR SIGNS:   Nope.
SYMPTOMS: My poor, poor ribs..
INNIE OR OUTIE? OUTIE! EEEK!
MOOD:  Content.
EXCITED FOR: The baby’s room is starting to come together.

IMG_3619.JPG
First day of Week 27

This morning at work my boss gave me a “gift bag” of things I will need after I have Baby M.  She said that the things in the bag were not pretty but that they were a life savor.  She went through the bag with me and she was not lying, they were not pretty but I can see the logic and necessity in each and every item.  I am not going to share what was in the bag because would be too much information–but for those of you who have had kids in the past I am sure you can guess.

She also told me to stop listening to people about child birth and immediately afterward.  She thought that, in general, people over exaggerated how dramatic and painful it was–mainly after baby is born.  She said that she WAS able to walk around, yes sitting is uncomfortable but that it is tolerable, and you do not waddle around after having the baby.  This must be another example of the generation gap to child bearing.  She was told the same things by residents before she had her son.

Leave a Reply

