Wolves and Bears

IMG_3576I turned around while hiking the other day (without my dogs) and found this wolf following me!!  AHHHHHHHHHH!

Just Kidding!!! Did I scare you? It is a real wolf though.

We are going to go back in time a tad–to about 3ish weekends ago.  I wanted to go to the Zoo.  Yes, at 28 years old, zoo’s are still far too much fun to pass up.  It just so happens that the closest zoo to my house is 2.5 hours away.  I ALMOST had James convinced to go to the zoo with me.  I say almost because once he realized we were going to drive 5 hours to walk around a zoo for 2 hours, he came to his senses…lame.  So here comes one of those “Let’s compromise, we are married moments.”  We will venture to the zoo once Baby M arrives.

We compromised on becoming tourists down at West Yellowstone.  Ok–I guess I can go for that. It was the last big weekend for West, so it was packed!  We had breakfast at a local cafe, wandered around West for a while, played tourist, and then we went to the Discovery Center.  Yes, it is as much fun as it sounds–bears and wolves, eagles, and hawks..

IMG_3573
And probably the largest crow I have ever seen!

IMG_3577 IMG_3578
These two wolves are the skinniest wolves I have seen at any sort of zoo.
I think they are just large dogs and somebody takes these guys home at night with their families.

IMG_3588 IMG_3587
These two bears are brother and sister.

The keepers put food under the rocks to keep all the tourists (and James and I) busy watching those wondering what is going on.

IMG_3582 IMG_3584
Brother Bear is on the left, Sister Bear is on the right.
Sister bear is taking a dip in the water.

One thought on “Wolves and Bears

Leave a Reply

