Fresh Mediterranean Meal

This is a great recipe! Both my husband and I really liked it.  I must admit, I substituted fresh spices with the ones that I had in the cupboard when I could; it still turned out.

Mediterranean Salmon

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 4 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 4 (3 ounce) fillets salmon
  • 1 tbs. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tbs. chopped fresh basil
  • 1 1/2 tsp. garlic salt (I just added the 1 1/2 tsp to the pressed garlic, not a fan of adding any sort of salt)

Directions:

1. Mix together the olive oil and balsamic vinegar in a small bowl. Arrange the salmon fillets in a shallow baking dish. Rub garlic onto the fillets; then pour the vinegar and oil over them, turning once to coat. Season with cilantro, basil, and garlic salt. Set aside to marinate for 10 minutes.

2. Preheat your oven’s broiler

3. Place the salmon about 6 inches from the heat source, and broil for 15 minutes, turning once, or until browned on both sides and easily flaked with a fork. Brush occasionally with the sauce from the pan.

Of course fish is not complete without an amazing side, so I have that as well!  A good glass of white wine is also amazing. For the people that know me, my favorite wine is Menage a trois white blend; it fits perfectly!

Mediterranean Quinoa salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cubes chicken bouillon (I used 1 low sodium cube)
  • 1 clove garlic, smashed
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 large red oinion, diced
  • 1 large green bell peper, diced
  • 1/2 chopped kalamata olives (I left these out because I’m not a fan of olives)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese (I was very liberal with the amount of cheese I added, you can never have enough)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh chives
  • 1/2 tsp. salt (once again, I skipped the salt)
  • 2/3 cup fresh lemon juice (added a splash more lemon juice)
  • 1 tbs. balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Directions:

1. Bring the water, bouillon cubes, and garlic to a boil in a saucepan. Stir in the quinoa, reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender and the water has been absorbed, 15 to 20 minutes. Discard the garlic clove and scrape the quinoa into a large bowl.

2. Gently stir the onion, bell pepper, olives, feta cheese, parsley, chives, and salt into the quinoa. Drizzle with the lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil. Stir until evenly mixed. Serve warm or refrigerate and serve cold.

Please try the recipe and let me know what your thoughts are.  These recipes are from an eating light website, but I can not remember which one. They are not my original recipes.

5 thoughts on “Fresh Mediterranean Meal

Leave a Reply

