House Tour

I want all of our family and friends to see our house, even if you are not able to come see it in person.  We have a tri-level, 5 bedroom, 3.5 bath house with a teeny-tiny backyard in Southwest Montana.  James, with help from his gracious parents, bought the house in 2011(ish) new.  When the house was bought, it had an unfinished basement. James parents finished the basement and it looks marvelous if I do say so myself.

Since we moved in together, I have realized that James and I have completely opposite styles when it comes to decorating and house style.  James, maybe obviously, likes new builds, rustic/woodsy/dark wood/bold colors/leather furniture.  What does Jennifer like you ask?  Well, I like country/cottage/lighter colors/light or colored cloth furniture, and would LOVE to live in a 100 year old farm house to remodel as I (ahem…we) please.  So, I will show you how I have (barely) started to integrate country-cottage with rustic-woodsy.  In addition, I love antiques, I have a few from James’ family and some from my family, but sadly the things from my family are sitting in my sisters garage waiting to make the trek to Montana.  I have also come to find out that I LOVE to decorate for the holidays, so I will eventually show you pictures of our holiday decorations.

You may also see a (continuing) transformation of our small backyard.  That seems to be an ever-changing project.  Even with our new build house we seem to be doing the “old people” weekly weekend runs to Home Depot or Lowes.  (A side note: I always thought it was so funny that my parents always went to home improvement stores on the weekends, now I totally get it. Lowes/Home Depot is an exciting outing for us on the weekends!)

Well, without any further ado, I introduce you to our house:

Welcome to the woodsy-rustic house!!

008007
I would like to introduce you to Phil. Honestly, I still have not grown to love Phil like James has. But I was told if I named him, maybe I would grow to love him.

002 019  001016
Living room: You may notice that there were football helmets above the TV, I finally switched that out with something a little more living room appropriate for a married household.

020 017  021
Kitchen: You will once again, notice the football helmet above the cupboards. I am slowly replacing those with something…different. I love ceramic things!! And no, I do not have a fascination with birds, they just happen to be all over the place and I like the coloring/glazing on them.  I am also, maybe borderline, obsessed with plants.

I am not sure what Brinks is doing here.

009 010 007 006
Upstairs hallway bathroom, master bedroom, upstairs guest bedroom, and office. Right now the only room with a curtain in it is the guest bedroom. I made one and it took me all weekend, so I really haven’t been into making anymore.

005 011
Kitchen: A small view into the backyard. I LOVE antiques and would fill the entire house with them (if they weren’t so expensive). Right now I have the hutch behind the kitchen table from James Grandma.
Downstairs: Entering the newly done basement (back in 2012 or early 2013). Very nice bar table.  I see you can see our blue doggie pool for the dogs outside the window.

012 013
A bar for downstairs.  Still, to this day, we do not have bar stools. I know which ones I want, but just have not taken the plunge to get them.  First door is the bathroom, second door is a spare bedroom and across from the spare bedroom is the big downstairs bedroom. Plenty of room for family and friends to visit (Hint, Hint!)

015 014
Left: Smaller spare bedroom. Once again, I love the antique shaving stand from James’ family.
Right: Big spare bedroom.

One thought on “House Tour

  1. You have me confused! Why would you call a pregnant moose with horns Phil? Thanks for the tour of your house. Maybe I will get to see it in person someday! Wouldn’t that be fun!!!

Leave a Reply

